Update to CSA 2019 – 10 years later

What is it? Comprehensive Safety Analysis 2010 (CSA 2010) is a program being rolled out by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) to improve truck and bus safety. The aim is to reduce commercial vehicle incidents, injuries and fatalities.

FMCSA incorporates several key properties:

  • Flexibility – recognizes changes in technology and the environment
  • Efficiency – improves Federal and State enforcement
  • Effectiveness – aims to improve safety performance
  • Innovation – use of technology to track and measure data
  • Equitability – ensures consistent treatment.

Some of the BASIC (Behavior Analysis and Safety Improvement Categories) the FMCSA will look at are:

  • unsafe driving – driving infractions, i.e. speeding, reckless driving, etc.
  • driver fatigue – drivers who are tired, ill or not in compliance with hours of service (HOS)
  • driver fitness – lack of training, medical certification and/or experience
  • alcohol/controlled substances – under the influence of alcohol, controlled substances and/or abuse of over the counter medications
  • vehicle maintenance – improper or lack of maintenance
  • improper load securement – unsafe handling of dangerous goods, load shifting, etc.

The system will assess information gathered through safety data collection and can result in interventions such as:

  • early contact
  • investigations
  • follow-ups, or
  • unfit suspensions.

The goal is that by the end of 2010, the roads will be safer for everyone.

Further information can be found at: http://csa2010.fmcsa.dot.gov/Documents/SMSMethodologyVersion1_2Final_2009_06_18.pdf